[Dockside] I Might As Well Be a Blind Monkey!

Still on the Fence

Still on the Fence

I’m a “Meanderthal Man” when it comes to packing. Yesterday I packed 1 box. ONE pitiful box! If I haven’t mentioned this before, when the de-cluttering begins, things that you haven’t seen for a millennium magically appear. It’s gotta be the “First Law of Clutter” – the one where clutter tends to expand over time in direct proportion to the volume of space in any given, finite environment. I spent over two hours packing this one box for our Philippines shipment, and most of my time was spent meandering (remember, I’m a meanderthal!) about the room….fiddling and playing with long lost or forgotten items. Like a child beside himself in simple amusement,  I wasted an abundance of time with the hope that decisions would be delivered to me like a pizza. All the time I wasted was really due to my own indecision – whether to just throw items in the box, throw them in the trash, or just throw them anywhere else.  I did manage to hide a few things for a decision to be made later.

What Should I Do?

What Should I Do?

At one point while monkeying around with an old hand held cassette recorder (dictaphone), I sort of, accidentally on purpose, dropped in on the floor with the desperate motive for some justification in making this particular decision. How lame have I become? When it hit the floor and the battery cover broke off (I was actually hoping it would survive), the answer was then obvious and the decision was now an easier one…toss it! I did manage to salvage the two “AAA” batteries so I felt some relief that it wasn’t a total loss.

It’s almost embarrassing to admit that I have never felt so attached to a junk drawer full of junk, but I did manage to get about half of it to the trash. The rest went into the box and I’m sure that upon opening this box at our final destination, I will find things and will ask myself to remind me again – “why the hell did I keep this?” At least at the other end, I know can give it away…to anybody!  That for sure will be much easier!

About RandyL

I first arrived the Western Pacific (Guam) in 1974 and for several years, I lived and traveled across the Pacific region and fell in love with the SE Asian lifestyle. Once bitten by it's culture bug, it never really lets go, and lingers on as a permanent affliction...forever. So henceforth, myself and my Filipina bride of 26 years, have decided that our best antidote is to simply return to the Philippines and take up residence in the Eastern Visayas on Samar Island. Our mission - to step back in time, relax, live....and Discover Samar Island before others do! Please visit my Blog for information that might help or inspire you to find your island in life.
Aside | This entry was posted in The Journey and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to [Dockside] I Might As Well Be a Blind Monkey!

  1. UJ says:

    I guess it’s too late, but I could have used that dictaphone. I would have used it when I was wondering around downtown instead of taking notes I could talk into that. I suppose they have newer things that I could get though. I haven’t checked on the latest and greatest stuff yet.

  2. RandyL says:

    Guess what, I just found another recorder and its in better shape than the one i tossed. Now I feel good about the other one. This one is coming with me!

  3. I’m getting ready to move to Bohol in March.. but I’m something of a minimalist. Just clothes and laptop is fine with me. It’s having to pack all the dishes, tables and household stuff I hate to have to lug around. I (almost) feel inclined to just give it all away and buy it again in Bohol. But my frugal side won’t allow that option. ha!

  4. RandyL says:

    Replacing it all will cost more than the cost of transporting it all with you. I think I’d take what I could to your new jungle home. Besides, when you meet your lady, you don’t want to start completely over!

  5. Pingback: Progress with Emotions | Retired in Samar

  6. Yah.. I’m thinking I’ll go with LiTE Shipping. It takes 4 hours to do a 90 minute distance, but they have bunkbeds for sleeping my way through while my stuff sits in cargo bay.

  7. RandyL says:

    Good Choice. It’ll be like home in the jungle! 😉

Leave a Reply

