[Dockside] Lost and Found

A Rare Find!

A Rare Find!

When the packing begins, you just never know what you might find packed away in the attic or in the bottom of a closet or elsewhere. While going through some stuff in my closet this week, I found several odds and ends and things that I really have no use for anymore, and one thing in particular. Several years ago we built a custom spec home and I was doing some grading work with my tractor. Building a home on a steep hillside was a challenge and even more so trying to stabilize the dirt until the lawn developed. I had to constantly move the dirt that rains would wash down the hill, back up to fill in the washed out spots. One day I brought a load up from the bottom of the hill to the top and while spreading it out with a rake, I found a piece of Indian flint.  Actually, it was more than just a piece of flint, it was a rather large and well preserved knife point, nearly 4.5 inches in length. I took the perfect specimen to a friend in Tupelo who happens to be a big collector and expert, and after about a 5 minute assessment, he offered to purchase it from me. Now, being that I’ve been around the block a few times and I’m so darned smart, I immediately figured it was worth more than what he offered me on the spot. Besides I had no knowledge of these things and he could have been taking advantage of me. So, I declined his offer and away I went.

5,000 Year Old Knife Point

5,000 Year Old Knife Point

So here it is 5 years later, and I still have this piece, worth approximately the same as what he offered back then – $400 (damn those gut instincts). I did my own homework and it all collaborated with his initial assessment. The piece pictured here is estimated to be from the Archaic Period with an approximate age of over 5,000 years. The key indicator is in the type of stone which is not indigenous to this area but came from the eastern Tennessee river basin by way of nomadic tribes, long before the Chickasaw Indians settled in this area. I’ve also found many other pieces and arrow points and even numerous shards of pottery (Chickaswa), but nothing as spledid as the “big find.”

Anywho, a lost treasure has been found in my closet and I’m cashing in on it. I doubt it would do me any good in the Philippines, unless I really wanted to get back to basics of surviving as one in harmony with nature. But I don’t think so. I’m perfectly fine with taking a step back in time, but not quite that far!

About RandyL

I first arrived the Western Pacific (Guam) in 1974 and for several years, I lived and traveled across the Pacific region and fell in love with the SE Asian lifestyle. Once bitten by it's culture bug, it never really lets go, and lingers on as a permanent affliction...forever. So henceforth, myself and my Filipina bride of 26 years, have decided that our best antidote is to simply return to the Philippines and take up residence in the Eastern Visayas on Samar Island. Our mission - to step back in time, relax, live....and Discover Samar Island before others do! Please visit my Blog for information that might help or inspire you to find your island in life.
Aside | This entry was posted in The Journey and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to [Dockside] Lost and Found

  1. UJ says:

    Well that’s pretty good news. Not as good as, “We have a buyer for the house” or “The sale of our house is complete”, but it’s better than a sharp stick in the eye. I hope you get at least the $400 for it.

  2. Pingback: [Dockside] To Be Showcased – Somewhere! | Retired in Samar

Leave a Reply

