[Dockside] It’s Cold and getting Colder!

Too Much Stuff!

Too Much Stuff!

Not much has been accomplished here in Mississippi since last week….except a lot of rain. I guess in one way that is similar to the Philippines – it’s wet! But the weather has turned cold and so has the real estate market.  We have had no showings of the house for a couple of weeks now and I contemplate daily about reducing our asking price, but I know already that it is below what the market should support. As much as I’d like to entertain any reasonable offer on the house, we surely don’t want to give up more than we have to.

As far as packing goes, I have made a promise to myself that each day I would eliminate or dispose of something. Last week I sold my utility trailer and this week I tossed out a fairly good fax machine that was just collecting dust in the garage. I remember I paid over $250 for it (fax, copy, phone) and today it seems nobody needs or even wants one. More and more office  business today is being conducted via scan and email. I had it advertised for $30 and never got any takers so….to the landfill it went. Here it is late in the afternoon and I haven’t made an elimination yet today, but I will. De-cluttering is not as easy as it would seem. I used to tell my real estate clients to box things up and put them in the attic and if in 6 months you haven’t missed it, you didn’t need it in the first place. Maybe I should go dig through the wife’s closet for a spell. I’m sure she has a few things she would never miss! Then again, maybe not. 😦

About RandyL

I first arrived the Western Pacific (Guam) in 1974 and for several years, I lived and traveled across the Pacific region and fell in love with the SE Asian lifestyle. Once bitten by it's culture bug, it never really lets go, and lingers on as a permanent affliction...forever. So henceforth, myself and my Filipina bride of 26 years, have decided that our best antidote is to simply return to the Philippines and take up residence in the Eastern Visayas on Samar Island. Our mission - to step back in time, relax, live....and Discover Samar Island before others do! Please visit my Blog for information that might help or inspire you to find your island in life.
Aside | This entry was posted in The Journey and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to [Dockside] It’s Cold and getting Colder!

  1. UJ says:

    I let Lita do the digging and just helped with the heavy things. I did that because I don’t know what she wants and what she doesn’t Heck I didn’t even know half of the stuff in the house when we got ready to move here. We still had a large storage unit full of things, even after giving most of the big stuff away or selling it. That’s what the Texas Trip was all about on my site.

Leave a Reply

